Finals 2023 - Set Test Pieces


Kapitol Promotions is delighted to announce the five set test-pieces for the Finals of the “National Brass Band Championships of Great Britain 2023”.



Sections 1-4 Finals – 16 & 17 September, The Centaur (Cheltenham Racecourse)

Championship Section Final – 21 October, Royal Albert Hall (London)


The following works were chosen by the Kapitol Promotions Music Panel, which is responsible for choosing the set test-pieces for the Regional Championships & National Finals each year. The Panel is comprised of Philip Morris (Chairman), Tim Jones (Administrator), with Duncan Beckley, Brian Buckley, Dr Robert Childs, John Maines and Sandy Smith as the Panel experts.



Of Men and Mountains (Edward Gregson)

Published by Novello, distributed by Studio Music



St James’s – A New Beginning (Philip Harper)

Published by Harper Music, distributed by Music Shop Europe



Lakeland Variations (Philip Sparke)

Published by Anglo Music, distributed by Music Shop Europe



The Lost Village of Imber (Christopher Bond)

Published by Christopher Bond Music



A Saddleworth Festival Overture (Goff Richards)

Published by Studio Music


Remarking on these choices, Philip Morris (Managing Director, Kapitol Promotions) commented: “These five diverse works have all been chosen for their respective strengths, and I’m sure they will be fantastic tests for the qualified bands. We are thrilled that Gregson’s Of Men and Mountains will finally be performed at its intended original venue, and those that know the piece – most of us, I’m sure – will agree that it will sound wonderful in the RAH! Exciting new works have been chosen in Sections 1, 2 & 3, with Section 4 bands being able to enjoy one of Goff Richards’ best-known works.  


The parameters for the number of bands qualifying changed this year, with the National Forum voting to allow larger sections more representation at the Sections 1-4 Finals. We are looking forward to welcoming 12 more bands to Cheltenham Racecourse this year, and hearing 12 more performances by the best bands of their Section in the country. The section order for the Sections 1-4 Finals weekend will be confirmed and released shortly”.