Coalburn Silver


Coalburn Silver Band is part of the Coalburn Brass Band Family. Our organisation is based in our own rehearsal facility in Coalburn, South Lanarkshire. The Silver Band was formed in 1902.

There are three brass bands in our organisation:

- Coalburn Bronze Band, our youth band

- Coalburn Intermediate Band, our 4th section band

- Coalburn Silver Band, our 1st section band

We also have our Coalburn Percussion Academy, where lessons are provided on the full range of percussion instruments.

Coalburn Silver Band will be conducted at the National Championships of Great Britain by Gareth Bowman. Gareth has been our musical director since 2004. During this time, the band has progressed from the 4th section and will compete in the championship section for the first time in our history in 2024.


Principal Players

Principal Cornet – Calum Blair

Soprano – Gregor Koziel

Flugel – Blair Collins

Horn – Rachel Carmichael

Baritone – Helena Dunsmore

Euphonium – Ian Jamieson

Trombone – Anna Biggart

Eb Bass – Owen Campbell

Bb Bass – Alan Court

Percussion – Jamie Millar