Ratby Co-Operative


The Ratby Co-operative Senior Band, based in Leicestershire, is the principal ensemble of a unique organisation that prides itself on providing an all-encompassing musical offering within our purpose-built headquarters. The organisation is led by Musical Director Chris Jeans and Artistic Director Mareika Gray along with the strong conducting team of Nicholas Garman, Ian Bartram, Becky Cook and Sheila Allen.

The organisation boasts five regular bands including its Mid Band who are currently the third section Wychavon Festival of Brass Champions.

In 2021, the Senior Band received a late invitation to compete at the National Finals. The band prepared themselves for the contest with little over three weeks’ notice, and under the direction of Mareika Gray placed 5th in what was the band’s first performance in the Championship Section Finals. The band have grown from strength to strength since then and have recently welcomed the services of Chris Jeans in the role of the band’s resident Musical Director.

The Senior Band makes its third appearance at the National Finals this year and are excited to perform in such a prestigious event yet again.

The Band is proud to be a long-standing and thriving part of the village community and surrounding area, providing an opportunity for musicians of all ages and abilities to play in an ensemble that suits, encourages, and develops them.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet Keir Evans-Brown

Soprano Cornet Richard Bates

Flugel Horn Kirk Turner

Solo Horn Matt Taylor

Solo Baritone Jon Clare

Solo Euphonium Rob Hunt

Solo Trombone Becky Cook

Principal Eb Tuba Luke Atkinson

Principal Bb Tuba Matt Wilkins

Principal Percussionist Ellie Wingett