Founded in 1946 in the heart of industrial Lancashire, England, Leyland celebrated its 75th anniversary in 2021. The band has forged a reputation for quality performance coupled with innovative and engaging repertoire and its quality is reinforced with an impressive list of titles – British Open Champions, National Champions of Great Britain, five times Brass in Concert Champions, All England Masters Champions – all achieved since its emergence on the national scene in the early 1980’s. The band has also proudly represented England in competition at the European Brass Band Championships twice since the turn of the millennium.

One of the most sought after brass ensembles on the concert platform, Leyland Band regularly performs in all parts of the United Kingdom, with occasional international appearances. Audiences in the Royal Albert Hall, London to The Waterfront Hall, Belfast have warmed to Leyland’s sound. Programming is always innovative with a firm focus on the audience. Repertoire ranging from the traditional to contempory, presented in eclectic mixes or themed sets, Leyland Band always seeks to engage positively with the audience. The band performs internationally boasting appearances in the United States of America, Japan, South Korea, all the major European countries and Scandinavia.

Leyland Band is proud of its deserved reputation for recognising and developing new young musical talent, through work with renowned conductors and its own established music teachers, challenging the brass band stereotype. Allied to that is the bands openness to new music and new composers, regularly providing a platform for new work to be heard. Regular radio and television appearances, and recordings add to the diversity of the body of work this great progressive ensemble produces.

Leyland Band is proud to be ambassadors for its home town of Leyland, Lancashire and the United Kingdom through its musical excellence and presentation.

Principal Players

Principal Cornet:  Iain Culross
Soprano Cornet:  Sacheus Holloway-Jones
Flugel Horn:  Ryan Broad
Solo Horn:  Rebecca Doyle
Solo Baritone:  Calum MacDonald
Solo Euphonium:  Daniel Hohm
Solo Trombone:  Don Logie
Solo Eb Bass:  Chris Doran
Solo BBb Bass:  Bill Carter
Principal Percussion:  Ben Thomas