Midlands Regional Championships 2020 - FULL RESULTS

Championship Section

Test Piece: A Tale as Yet Untold (Philip Sparke)
Civic Hall
Sunday 8th March
Adjudicators: Steve Sykes & Alan Morrison

1. GUS (Chris Jeans)*
2. Desford Colliery (Michael Fowles)*
3. Ratby Co-operative (Mareika Gray)
4. Jaguar Land Rover (Nigel Seaman)
5. Thoresby Colliery (Michael Howley)
6. Derwent (Jack Capstaff)
7. Foresters (Gareth Brindle)
8. Enderby (Ryan Richards)
9. Langley (Cliff Parker)
10. Hucknall & Linby M.C.(Paul Whyley)
11. Blidworth Welfare (Simon Gresswell)

*Qualify for Championship Section National Final

Section 1

Test Piece: Legacy (Tom Davoren)
Civic Hall
Saturday 7th March
Adjudicators: Alan Morrison and Christopher Wormald

1. Newstead (Mareika Gray)*
2. Jackfield (David Maplestone)*
3. Kibworth (Brendan Caddy)
4. Burbage (Buxton) (Steve Critchlow)
5. Bilton Silver (Rugby) (David Stowell)
6. Shirley (Tom Stoneman)
7. Carlton (Geoff Wood)
8. SPAL Sovereign (Neil Samuel)
9. Harborough (Brad Turnbull)
10. Staffordshire (Craig Williams)
11. Bedworth (Wayne Ruston)
12. Oddfellows (David Holling)
13. Hathern (Colonel Stephen Barnwell)
14. Shirebrook Miners Welfare (Jim Henson)
15. Foss Dyke (Ian Scott)
16. Rolls Royce (Derby) (Graham Cardwell)

*Qualify for Section 1 National Final


Section 2

Test Piece: The Golden Sabre — Tales of the Hussar-Poet, Denis Davydov (Kit Turnbull)
Civic Hall
Sunday 8th March
Adjudicators: Brian Rostron and Mark Wilkinson
Split Draws: 9.00am and 10.30am
Commences: 10.00am

1. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)*
2. Glossop Old (David Ashworth)*
3. City of Coventry (Jonathan Fearn)
4. Tintwistle (Andrew Mallon)
5. Avonbank (Evesham) (Colin Herbert)
6. Leicestershire Co-op (Snibston) (Luke Pallister)
7. Market Rasen (David Dernley)
8. Ibstock Brick (Dave Lea)
9. Wellington (Telford) (Stephen Rhodes)
10. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper)
11. Wigston (Rob Boulter)
12. Cleobury Mortimer Concert (Colin Hogg)
13. Ireland Colliery Chesterfield (Lindon Bolt)

*Qualify for Section 2 National Final


Section 3

Statement from the Midlands Regional Committee:

Due to an error on the adjudicator summary sheets the Third Section results from the Midlands Regional Championships have been given out incorrectly. Whilst we apologise for this confusion the stewards have corrected the summary sheet. Unfortunately the error was not noticed until after the results were announced and bands had left with their remarks and their incorrect positions.

Regional Secretary Lesley Bentley
Regional Chairman: John Slater

Test Piece: Endurance — narrative variations for brass band (Andrew Baker)
Kenilworth School, Kenilworth
Saturday 7th March
Adjudicators: James Holt and Brian Rostron
Split Draw: 10.00am and 12 noon
Commences: 11.00am


1. Stamford (Julian Bright)*
2. Raunds Temperance (Jonathan Pippen)*
3. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson)
4. Audley (Tom Hancock)
5. Stourport on Severn (Oliver Wilson)
6. Daventry (Bob Stradling)
7. Towcester Studio (Peter Wain)
8. Long Eaton Silver Prize (Sharon Stansfield)
9. Cubbington Silver (Mark Phillips)
10. Newhall (Kevin Holdgate)
11. Shipston Town (Howard Gibbs)
12. Bakewell Silver (Ryan Stacey)
13. Corby Silver (Cathy Fountain)
14. Ratby Co-operative Mid (Gary Perrin)
15. Syston (Colin Jones)
16. Arrow Valley (Ashley Buxton)

*Qualify for Section 3 National Final

Section 4

Test Piece: Neverland (Christopher Bond)
Kenilworth School, Kenilworth
Sunday 8th March
Adjudicators: James Holt and Christopher Wormald

1. Amington (Alan Gifford)*
2. City of Birmingham (Saphran Ali)*
3. Trentham (Shaun Farrington)*
4. Newark Town (Gary Wyatt)
5. Matlock (Chris Banks)
6. Fairfield (Buxton) (Charles Kitchen)
7. Bretforton Silver (John Wood)
8. Wem Jubilee (Cathy Rutherford)
9. Croft Silver (Ian Needham)
10. Melton (Graham Sutton)
11. Dunchurch (Paul Whitmore)
12. Ilkeston (Geoff Hawley)
13. Thrapston Town (Nathan Waterman)
14. University of Warwick (Simon Hogg)
15. Coventry Festival (Allan Wheelhouse)
16. Skegness Silver (Steve Walker)
17. Malvern Hills District (Chris License)
18. Kirkby Colliery Welfare (Neville Buxton)
19. Bilton Silver Evolution (Jack Fisher)
20. Brackley & District (Shaun Humphries)
21. Moulton 77 (Kevin Spencer)

Withdrawn: Whitwell (Adrian Wood)

*Qualify for Section 4 National Final