North West Regional Championships attracts bumper entry

North West Regional Championships
Sunday 23rd February 2020
Winter Gardens (Blackpool)

The North West Regional Championships Committee is delighted to announce that there is an entry of seventy-eight bands who will compete at their Championships on 23rd February. This involves a full entry from bands in the Championship Section, Section 1, Section 2 & Section 3, and 16 of the 18 registered bands in Section Four.

As usual, the contest will be held all on one day - with three halls being used in the Winter Gardens complex. Tickets for the full day with entry to all competitions are priced at £12, with under-16s getting free entry (if accompanied by a paying adult). These are only available on the day at the Winter Gardens Box Office.

The full details of the Championships are as follows:

Championship Section (12 Bands)
Opera House, commencing after Section 1 Results
Adjudicators: Ian Brownbill and Alan Morrison

Boarshurst Silver - James Garlick
Fairey - Garry Cutt
Foden’s - Russell Gray
Leyland - Thomas Wyss
Milnrow - Chris Binns
Oldham (Lees) - John Collins
Pemberton Old Wigan DW - Ben Dixon
Rainford - Sarah Groarke-Booth
TCTC Group - Jef Sparkes
VBS Poynton - Stig Maersk
Wardle Anderson - Sean Conway
Wingates - Paul Andrew

Section 1 (16 Bands)
Opera House, commencing at 9:45am
Adjudicators: Andrea Price and Andrew Warriner

Ashton-Under-Lyne - Jamie Prophet
Blackburn & Darwen - Daniel Thomas
Bollington - Peter Christian
Diggle - Alan Widdop
Eccles Borough - Marieka Gray
Flixton - Matthew Ryan
Freckleton - Matt Shaw
Haslingden & Helmshore - John Binns
Haydock - Mark Quinn
Longridge - Mark Peacock
Manx Concert - Ian Clague MBE
Marple - Stephen Curtis
Middleton - Kevin Gibbs
Mossley - Duncan Byers
Roberts Bakery - Paul Lovatt-Cooper
Silk - Tony Wyatt


Section 2 (17 Bands)
Pavilion Theatre, commencing at 11:00am
Adjudicators: Anne Crookston and Howard Evans

Allerton - Adam Taylor
Besses Boys - James Holt
Besses o’ th’ Barn - Trevor Halliwell
Blackpool - Max Stannard
Cheshire Constabulary - David Woolam
Crewe - Matt Pithers
Delph - Phil Goodwin
Eagley - Chris Wormald
Eccleston - John Wood
Farnworth & Walkden - Dan Price
Greenfield - Phil Goodwin
Old Hall - John North
Pemberton Old Wigan DW “B” - Alistair Burrows
Poulton-Le-Fylde - A. Webb
Tyldesley - Robert Taylor
Uppermill - Dean Redfern
Valley (Haydock) - David Chadwick


Section 3 (17 Bands)
Empress Ballroom, commencing after Section 4 Results
Adjudicators: Nicholas Garman and Mike Kilroy

City of Chester - Ewan Easton
Darwen - Len Charnock
Douglas Town - Ken Mitchell
Formby - Louise Hough MBE
Greenalls - J. Hall
Hawk Green - N. Hewson
Hazel Grove - Nigel Beasley
Hoover Bolton - Craig Mann
Lostock Hall Memorial - Ryan Broad
Parr St. Helens - J. Ludden
Pilling Jubilee Silver - Steve Hartley
Rivington & Adlington - Malcolm Wilson
Rode Hall Silver - Nigel Butler
Sale - Matthew Hindle
Thornton Cleveleys - Dave Houghton
Trinity Girls - Richard Evans
Whitworth Vale & Healey - John Binns


Section 4 (16 Bands)
Empress Ballroom, commencing at 9:30am
Adjudicators: John Doyle and David Roberts

Blackley - Adrian Smith
BMP (Europe Ltd) Goodshaw - David Ashworth
Brindle - Matthew Balson
Cadishead Public - David Holland
Denton - Robert Yates
Dobcross Silver - Jason Smith
Dobcross Youth - Seth Livingstone
Golborne - Joshua Hughes
Littleborough - Sam Fisher
Morecambe - Andrew Porter
Ramsey Town - Robert Quane
Red Admiral - Stuart Barton
St. John’s Mossley - Paul Taule
Skelmersdale Prize - Ben Coulson
Stacksteads - Fred Bowker
Stalybridge Old - James Atkins