Cory Band Composition Prize 2018

The winner of Cory Band's Composition Prize 2018, in collaboration with The Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama (RWCMD) and sponsored by Kapitol Promotions Ltd., will be decided tomorrow night during a special concert in Cardiff.

Now a well-established event in the band’s calendar, entries were sought by composers of any age or experience of works which have not already been performed. Three of the submitted works were selected by composer and Musical Director of Cory Philip Harper, and will be performed by Cory Band at a gala evening in the prestigious Dora Stoutzker Hall at RWCMD on Saturday 26th May 2018. A panel of experts consisting this year of trumpet player John Wallace, conductor Nigel Seaman, and Cory Band’s Musical Director Philip Harper will decide the winner on the night, which will immediately receive a second performance from the band before going on to be published and recorded.

Speaking about this year’s competition Philip Harper said: “This has developed into a really successful event now, and since its inception has created over 60 new works for brass band. Cory has really enjoyed performing and recording the previous three winning works by composers Lewis Furber, Richard Haydn Taylor and Andy Wareham. At this year’s concert, we are delighted to be joined also by The Wallace Collection with which the band will be joining to present Scottish composer Jay Capperauld’s new work, which will only add to the spirit of celebration of new brass music of the evening.”

Tickets are only available directly through the RWCMD Box Office, who can be contacted using the below information:

029 2039 1391