Shipston Town


Shipston Town Band was formed in 1912 as the result of a bet between William Holman and a local auctioneer Frank Parsons that he could train a band in six weeks fit to march through the streets of Shipston. His band of 18 players marched around a short route and paused at the corners to play a waltz. At the end of the march only Holman and the bass drummer were still playing but he was judged to have won the bet and the band has been in existence ever since apart from a break during the Second World War. During the period between the two wars the band was conducted by their own JR namely J R Mayo the owner of the local timber yard. The band was reformed after the Second World War by Bert Smith whose son John is still a member of the band. Other conductors have included Denis Grant, Dave Lea and our current conductor Howard Gibbs. The band is based in its own band hall in Shipston which is in South Warwickshire and is currently graded in Section 4 in the Midland Area with promotion to Section 3 from January 2020. We have had a successful year on the contest circuit with a first place in the ODBBA Winter contest and a 3rd place at the Midland Area. This is our first appearance at the finals since we competed in the Section 3 Finals in 2013 having previously played in the 2010 Section 4 Finals.

Principal Players

Soprano Paul Lay
Principal Cornet Grace Coates
Flugel Horn Darran Wheeler
Solo Horn Adrian White
Solo Euphonium Jamie Raffell
First Baritone Eugene Gratwohl
Solo Trombone Bev Bosworth
Eb Bass Ken Smith
Bb Bass Ben Lewis Skeath
Kit Percussion Alec Banner
Tuned Percussion Eleanor Smith